Felix Mendelssohn, 1844.
Violin Concerto in E minor- 1. Allegro molto appassionato.

Mendelssohn's rich and heartfelt Violin Concerto has long been an essential part of virtuosic violin players. Innovative at its time of publication and premiere, the opening movement heard here was unique in its incorporation of the soloist from the very onset of the piece. The inward searching of the soloist's notes is charming and endearing, yet challenging and energetic. The soloist continues from the opening theme and for the first time in violin concertos the soloist serves to accompany the orchestra more so than simply to repeat back a variation of the orchestra parts.

Tonight, I had the opportunity to hear Itzhak Perlman play this concerto with the Philadelphia Orchestra. His tonal control and lyrical beauty serve the piece well. Several others such as a great like Heifetz and young sensations Jansen and Bell have played this piece to perfection under their unique stylings.

Selected recordings recommended for purchasing:
Concertgebouw Orchestra performance with Itzhak Perlman (conducted by Haitink) available here.
Gewandhaus Orchestra performance with Janine Jansen (conducted by Chally) available here.
Salzburg Camerata performance with Joshua Bell (conducted by Norrington) available here.
Boston Symphony Orchestra performance with Jascha Heifetz (conducted by Munch) available here.

Artwork: Caspar David Friedrich // Wanderer Above the Sea of Fog


Anonymous Anonymous said...

absolute LOVE this piece!

July 3, 2007 at 11:40 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home