Ludwig van Beethoven, 1806.
Piano Sonata #23, The Appassionata in F Minor - III - Allegro, ma non troppo - Presto.

Beethoven's Appassionata is a wonderfully evocative piece of piano music. Widely considered one of his premiere piano sonata's the Appassionata was Beethoven's own choice as his greatest sonata's.

Usually played with all three movements together the Sonata is dazzling, covering a broad spectrum of emotion, but never losing sight of the core feeling of "passion". In particular, the sonata's third movement, Allegro, ma non troppo - Presto , is wildly exciting, fast paced and extremely complex to boot. The richness of the sound is a hallmark as well as the driving, rhythmic force of the perpetuum mobile which is utilized. The sonata requires the utmost skill of the pianist and is truly a spectacle when performed by the greatest pianists.

Selected recordings recommended for purchasing:
Claudio Arrau version available here.
Daniel Barenboim version available here.
Jonathan Biss version available here.

Artwork by: Vincent van Gogh // Red Vineyard


Post a Comment

<< Home